Author, Life Coach, Intuitive

Creativity

I attended the Milwaukee Writer’s Circle BBQ the other night.  Author Anthony Alston, our host, shared how he used music to influence and to forward his creativity.  The group of us listened to one of his original compositions and wrote while he played the piano.  Each of us was moved, even the guest non writers; each of us wrote a piece.

It was amazing the themes of love came through yet it was vastly different for each of us.  Music led us to be more introspective and to blend the feelings into words.

In the past we have used starting sentences, pictures and themes to begin a writing project.  My short story Across, originated from one of these exercises.

Creativity can be ignited from anything.  A thought, a touch. a smell can all start your mind on a train of thought that takes on a life of it’s own.  Children do this easily, they move from fantasy to reality, often blending the two.  Allow yourself to become more creative.  You don’t have to write or compose – just start to allow new thoughts to enter.

Heddy Keith, the founder of the Milwaukee Writer’s Circle, talked about using “What if…”  This can be applied to your own life. What if I added cinnamon to my breakfast cereal? What if I turned here, just to see where it leads.  What if I called…  the potential is endless.  You may find that a little creativty will add interest and excitement to your life.

Let me know how it changes or enhances the days for you.

One response

  1. I love finding ideas through music, but I usually don’t work to it anymore. I do keep a notebook in the car, just in case that radio inspires my muse.

    September 19, 2011 at 5:07 am

Leave a Reply

